German  HOME



Welcome to the

technical drawings and project

by the Fokker-Team-Schorndorf

for the


engelstransparent.GIF (1352 Byte)

This project, designated as Engels E3, is the attempt to create a most authentic reproduction of the famous Fokker D.VII single seat persuit fighter of WWI.

The aircraft will eventually be part of the realisation of our Unique Flying Museum Dream




wpe15518.gif (23720 Byte)       wpe27091.gif (19930 Byte)


To see the sample drawings, click at them.


Information Sheet No. III


Construction Drawings for the





Dear Sir or Madam,

Thank you very much for your interest in our ENGELS E3 project.

The Fokker-Team-Schorndorf is developing a complete set of construction drawings for this aircraft. The ENGELS E3 is a reproduction of the Fokker D.VII which was originally designed in 1918 by the engineering staff at the Fokker Flugzeugwerke G.m.b.H. Schwerin/Mecklenburg for use as a manoeuvrable dog fight single seater.

As you can judge from the enclosed sample drawings, our drawings are documents of the highest German standard quality and must in no way be confused with the average drawings for "home-built" aircraft which are available anywhere at low cost.

The drawings set available from us is based on the results of long yeared historic researches and redesigning of the type. Every little detail was checked several times by us about being historic correct. The Fokker-Team-Schorndorf also did work together with well reputated historians all around the world. Further similar aircraft by the same designers which are today preserved in museums world wide have been carefully measured, photographed and studied. Here are planes like the Fokker E.III, the Fokker D.VII itself or the Fokker D.VIII. Since no complete original set of construction drawings did survive until today (at least not to our knowledge), the redesign is based upon the above mentioned comparison with other Fokker types and their measurement as well as on many small parts of original Fokker works drawings, documents of the Prussian Army, sketches, texts and countless historic photographs. The Fokker-Team-Schorndorf did carefully work from the point of view of the historian and not from the commercial one. The drawings have been also made in this way. The main aim of the work was to preserve the knowledge about the structural design of the aircraft. If you decide to work from these plans, you will be able to construct a full size reconstruction of the airplane made famous by many leading German fighter aces like really built and flown by the Fokker Works themselves in the war time year 1918. Of course this judgment is based on our current stand of knowledge about the original plane


Furthermore you will support further historic researches by the Fokker-Team-Schorndorf through the purchase of these documents.

The quality of the sample drawings enclosed speaks for themselves. Wherever possible the separate parts have been drawn in 1/1 scale.

The sizes of the sheets of the set differ between Din A4 and Din A0. Most of the drawings are covered on Din A3 sheets. For better understanding drawings of single parts only do show one part.

We have been endeavoured to keep alive the origin stile of the drawings made at the Fokker Flugzeugwerke G.m.b.H. The scale of the shown parts differ between  1/20, 1/10, 1/5, 1/3 and mostly 1/1. The set includes one big sheet in about Din A0 size. This one shows the fuselage frame in 1/5 scale. All drawings will be delivered folded according to DIN (German industrial norms) regulations. Each sheet is protected by a transparent plastic cover. The complete drawing set consists of approximately 250 drawings.

However you may decide, we whish you that you will be able to turn your will into a fact and all the luck and all the fun during construction.








Adresse, Address:



Achim Sven Engels

Schillerstrasse 22/4

73547 Lorch - Germany

Tel.0049 / 71 72 / 91 55 77



How to Work

from the

Construction Drawings

 by the




Explained at the example of the ENGELS E1


written by Achim Sven Engels



A.) The System of the Tidiness.


To understand completely the conception of tidiness of these manufacturing documents it is necessary to know that an aircraft is split up in several units which will be called by using the German word "Baugruppe" (construction units). These "Baugruppen" are the same for every plan set by the FOKKER-TEAM-SCHORNDORF. Which they are and what they do consist of will be explained in the following:


Baugruppe 100      The Motorization:

                        Engine cowling, firewall, engine mountings and gasoline and oil tanks.

Baugruppe 200      The Fuselage:

                        Fabric covering, fuselage frame, wing mounting, cowlings and cross bracings.

 Baugruppe 300      The Undercarriage:

                        Undercarriage, axle fairings and wheels.

 Baugruppe 400      The Elevator:

                        Stabilizer and elevator.

 Baugruppe 500      The Rudder:

                        Back Finn (not in existence on the Dr.I) and Rudder.

 Baugruppe 600      The Wings:

                        Wing spars, ribs, airfoil, all wings, the interplane struts and ailerons.

 Baugruppe 700      The Equipment:

                        Control systems, cockpit floor, seat and belts and the instruments.

 Baugruppe 800      The Weapons:

                        Machine gun mountings, ammunition belt feed and ammunition boxes.

 Baugruppe 900            Installation Plans:

                        Tubes of the main system and total aircraft views.

Baugruppe 000      The Aircraft:

                        General common construction instructions and bracing orders (degree of incidence at the wings).


B.) The Manufacturing Documents 

After we did learn how an aircraft is split up in different units we will now start to familiarize with the components of the manufacturing documents.

 The documents do consist of three important components which should guarantee the frictionless course of the construction of the aircraft. These components are:

                        1. The drawings,

                        2. the bills of material,

                       3. the descriptions of construction.


1. The Drawings:

The drawings are also splitted into three groups. The first group shows every "Baugruppe" completely assembled with the dimensions given. The second group is formed by the separate parts drawings. Each separate part did already get in the first group of the drawings its own part number. The drawings of the separate parts do show them with all dimensions given that are necessary to construct it and are also mostly kept in 1/1 Scale. The third group of drawings are the assembly drawings. They show how to connect all parts and/or components. This third group only gives the really important dimensions.

Each drawing sheet has got its own number of course, too. These will be three-digit for the Fokker Dr.I. The first number of these is the number of the "Baugruppe" whilst the last both digits are the ongoing number of sheets in this "Baugruppe".

If in any group of the drawings something will be referred to another drawing, this will happen through the according sheet number shown in an oval border.

The drawings of the parts which will require steel tubing to manufacture do have a table in which it is stated how much of what size is needed.



2. The Bills of Material:

Each Baugruppe has got its own list of material. Under the separate part number given in the drawings you will find each part in the list of material. The list of material tells you how often a part will be needed, how it is named and which materials are necessary to construct it and furthermore what sheet number covers the closest drawing of the part concerned.



You are working at the construction of the elevator and be trying to find closer information about the construction of the hinges. The complete drawing of the elevator shows you that the part number of the hinge is 4230. Now you will take the bill of material of "Baugruppe" 400 and since everything is shown in numerical order you will find the part number 4230 relatively fast and without problems.

The most important information are given here. You will learn from the bill that there are three hinges required, that the most needed material will be mild steel sheet of a thickness of 1,5mm and last but not least that the closest drawing of part number 4230 is covered on sheet No. 403.

But not everything can be learned that easy from the bill of material. There will be not mentioned that part number 4230 do consist of two parts. On the first hand there will be needed the steel sheets and on the second hand there is a part of brass tube which will be the hinges bearing. This information is given in the separate parts drawing of the hinge only.


3. The Description of the Construction:

Up to now there are no descriptions available.


Some photographs of the project under construction:

Kuehlerbau10.jpg (111917 Byte)

A lot of hand crafting! Here is the making of the radiator shutters.


Kuehlerbau12.jpg (40606 Byte)

For comparision: Some shutters finished.


Fahrgestellanschluss12.jpg (95702 Byte)

Welded joints in the fuselage frames. Here a close up of the forward undercarriage leg attachment point.

Propeller21.jpg (77045 Byte)

Airscrew under construction.


Propellerbau1.jpg (91637 Byte)

Finished airscrews alongside those still in the making.


Hand made fuel tank fillers.

Aufblasen1.jpg (120742 Byte)

Fuel tank during pressure testing.


Mun2283.jpg (120934 Byte)

Ammo box and empty belt box mounted to the airframe.

602.jpg (58271 Byte)

The first weapon in place.


310.jpg (73970 Byte)

Wing spar during construction.

396.jpg (85335 Byte)

Load test with a wing rib. 520 kg and still no failure. As you can see, we then ran out of space for more sand bags...


687.jpg (52499 Byte)

Wing under construction.


725.jpg (73388 Byte)

Upper wing.

820.jpg (72285 Byte)

Wing construction.

856.jpg (46687 Byte)

Our official construction supervisor for this LBA registered Experimental aircraft, Hartmut Sammer, obviously happy with the workmanship.


885.jpg (122555 Byte)

First fitting of fuselage and wings.


891.jpg (106022 Byte)

Pulley brackets of the ENGELS E3 compared with the factory drawing of the same part in the Fokker D.VII..

English

Willkommen bei den

technischen Zeichnungen und dem Projekt

des Fokker-Team-Schorndorf

zum

ENGELS E3

engelstransparent.GIF (1352 Byte)

Bei der Engels E3 handelt es sich um den möglichst authentischen Nachbau der Fokker D.VII.

Das Flugzeug ist Teil der Verwirklichung unseres Traumes eines fliegenden Museums.

Mun2285.jpg (109373 Byte)

Zurück

wpe15518.gif (23720 Byte)             wpe27091.gif (19930 Byte)

Um die Musterzeichnungen zu betrachten, klicken Sie sie bitte an.

 

 

Informationsblatt

Nr.III 

Konstruktionsunterlagen zur Engels E3.

Besten Dank für Ihr Interesse an unserem Engels E3 Projekt.

Das Fokker-Team-Schorndorf ist dabei, einen kompletten Satz Konstruktionszeichnungen für den Bau dieses historisch interessanten Flugzeugs anzufertigen. Die ENGELS E3 ist ein Nachbau der Fokker D.VII (Werksbezeichnung V.21) und wurde ursprünglich im Kriegsjahr 1918 von der Entwicklungsabteilung der Fokker Flugzeugwerke G.m.b.H. Schwerin/Mecklenburg für den Kampfeinsatz als Jagdflugzeug entworfen.

Wie Sie anhand der beigefügten Musterzeichnungen sehen können, handelt es sich hierbei um technische Zeichnungen.

Der von uns erhältliche Satz Werkzeichnungen basiert auf den Ergebnissen langjähriger Recherchen und vorsichtigster Rekonstruktion. Jedes Detail des Flugzeuges wurde mehrmals von uns sehr gewissenhaft auf seine historische Richtigkeit hin überprüft. Das Fokker-Team-Schorndorf arbeitete auch mit anerkannten Historikern zusammen. Auch wurden vom Aufbau her ähnliche Flugzeuge, wie die Fokker E.III, die Fokker D.VII oder die Fokker D.VIII, welche heute noch in Museen erhalten geblieben sind, untersucht, vermessen und fotografiert. Da kein originaler Satz Konstruktionszeichnungen mehr existiert, basiert die Rekonstruktion auf Teilen erhaltener Originalzeichnungen, sowie Dokumenten der preußischen Armee, Skizzen, Texten und vielen historischen Fotodokumenten. Das Fokker-Team-Schorndorf arbeitete sehr sorgfältig vom historischen Standpunkt aus, nicht vom kommerziellen. Im Vordergrund der Rekonstruktion stand der Wunsch nach dem Erhalt des geschichtlichen Wissens um den technischen Aufbau des Flugzeuges. Sollten Sie sich entscheiden nach diesen Unterlagen zu arbeiten, so sind Sie in der Lage, eine 1/1 Rekonstruktion dieses, durch zahlreiche deutsche Fliegerhelden des ersten Weltkrieges berühmt gewordenen, Doppeldeckers zu erstellen, wie er nach unseren Ergebnissen  tatsächlich im letzten Kriegsjahr 1918 gebaut und geflogen wurde.

!!!NICHTS WURDE WISSENTLICH ENTFERNT, HINZUGEFÜGT ODER ABGEÄNDERT!!!

Darüber hinaus unterstützen Sie mit dem Erwerb dieser Unterlagen die weiteren Forschungen des  FOKKER - TEAM - SCHORNDORF.

Die Qualität der diesem Informationsschreiben beigefügten Musterzeichnungen spricht für sich. Wo immer möglich und sinnvoll, wurden die Einzelteile im Maßstab 1/1 dargestellt.

Die Formate der Blätter variieren zwischen DIN A4 und DIN A0. Die meisten Zeichnungen des Satzes befinden sich auf Blättern im Format DIN A3. Um Verwirrungen zu vermeiden, beinhalten die Einzelteilzeichnungen nur das jeweils betreffende Bauteil.

Wir waren bemüht, die Zeichnungen im Stil der noch existierenden Originale der Fokker Werkszeichnungen von 1917 und 1918 zu halten. Der Maßstab der gezeigten Teile variiert zwischen 1/20, 1/10, 1/5, 1/3 und meistens 1/1. Enthalten ist auch ein großer Bogen im Format größer DIN A0. Dieser zeigt den Rumpfaufbau im Maßstab 1/5. Alle Zeichnungen werden gerollt geliefert. Der komplette Zeichnungssatz wird voraussichtlich 250 Blätter umfassen.

Wie auch immer Sie sich entscheiden werden, wir wünschen Ihnen schon jetzt, dass es Ihnen gelingt, Ihr Vorhaben in die Tat umzusetzen und wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß und viele lehrreiche Stunden beim Bau der Maschine.

Hochachtungsvoll

Das FOKKER-TEAM-SCHORNDORF

 E-Mail: engels@fokker-team-schorndorf.de

________________________________________________

 

Das Arbeiten

mit  den

Fertigungsunterlagen des

Deutschen Elektronik Dienst

Erklärt am Beispiel der ENGELS E1.

Verfasst von Achim Sven Engels

 

A.) Das Ordnungssystem

Um das Ordnungssystem der Fertigungsunterlagen verstehen zu können, ist es notwendig zu wissen, dass jedes Flugzeug in unterschiedliche Baugruppen eingeteilt ist. Diese Baugruppen sind für alle Plansätze des Deutschen Elektronik Dienst dieselben. Welche dies im Einzelnen sind, und was sie jeweils umfassen, ist im Folgenden dargelegt.

 

Baugruppe 100     Die Motorisierung:

Motorhaube, Motorspritzblech, Motorträger und Betriebstoffbehälter

Baugruppe 200     Der Rumpf:

Bespannung, Rumpfgerüst, Spanntürme, Verkleidung und Verspannung.

Baugruppe 300     Das Fahrwerk:

Fahrgestell, Achsverkleidung und Räder.

Baugruppe 400     Das Höhensteuer:

Dämpfungsfläche und Höhenruder.

Baugruppe 500     Das Seitensteuer:

Heckflosse (beim V.5 nicht vorhanden) und Seitenruder.

Baugruppe 600     Das Tragwerk:

Holme, Rippen, alle Tragflügel und die Zellenstreben sowie die Querruder.

Baugruppe 700     Die Ausstattung:

Bedienungselemente, Cockpitboden, Gurte und Instrumente.

Baugruppe 800     Die Bewaffnung:

Maschinengewehr-Lagerung, Patronenkästen und die Patronenzuführungen.

Baugruppe 900     Einbaupläne:

Leitungssysteme und Gesamtansichten.

Baugruppe 000     Gesamtflugzeug:

Allgemeine Montageanleitung und Verspannungsvorschriften.

 

B.) Die Fertigungsunterlagen

Nachdem wir nun die Einteilung eines Flugzeuges in einzelne Baugruppen kennengelernt haben, wollen wir uns mit den Bestandteilen der Fertigungsunterlagen vertraut machen.

Die Fertigungsunterlagen bestehen aus drei wichtigen Bestandteilen, die den reibungslosen Ablauf des Baus gewährleisten sollen. Diese Bestandteile sind:

            1. Die Zeichnungen,

            2. die Stücklisten,

            3. die Bauanleitungen.

 

1. Die Zeichnungen

Die Zeichnungen gliedern sich ebenfalls in drei Gruppen auf. In der ersten ist jede Baugruppe für sich in komplett aufgerüstetem Zustand und mit Maßen versehen dargestellt. Die zweite Gruppe bilden die Einzelteilzeichnungen. Jedes Einzelteil ist bereits in der ersten Gruppe durch eine eigene Bauteilnummer gekennzeichnet. Die Einzelteilzeichnungen zeigen die Einzelteile mit allen zum Bau notwendigen Maßangaben und möglichst im Maßstab 1:1. Die dritte Gruppe bilden die Montagezeichnungen. Sie zeigen, wie die Einzelteile und Einzelkomponenten untereinander montiert werden müssen. Diese Zeichnungen beinhalten nur die nötigsten Bemaßungen.

Jede Zeichnung besitzt im unteren rechten Eck des Schriftfeldes eine Blattnummer. Diese Blattnummer ist dreistellig. Die erste Ziffer gibt die Baugruppe wieder und die letzten beiden Ziffern bilden die in dieser Baugruppe fortlaufenden Blattnummern. Diese Nummern sind nicht immer laufend aufeinander folgende Ziffern. Beispiel: Nach Blatt 636 kommt nicht Blatt 637, da diese Blattnummer nicht existiert. Anstelle von 637 kommt gleich 640. Die Ursache hierfür liegt in zahlreichen Änderungen des Plansatzes im Laufe der letzten 8 Jahre.

Wird in der ersten Gruppe der Zeichnungen, also den Gesamtzeichnungen, auf eine Einzelteilzeichnung oder eine Montagezeichnung gesondert verwiesen, so geschieht dies durch eine, in einem ovalem Rahmen gefasste Nummer. Sie zeigt die Blattnummer, unter welcher das entsprechende Objekt dargestellt ist.

Bei großen Bauteilen, die aus Stahlrohren bestehen, ist eine Tabelle der nötigen Stahlrohre auf der jeweiligen Zeichnung vorhanden. Dies erleichtert die Materialbeschaffung.

 

2. Die Stücklisten

Jede Baugruppe hat ihre eigene Stückliste. Unter den in den Einzelteilzeichnungen oben links eingetragenen Bauteilnummern sind die Einzelteile in den Stücklisten zu finden. Aus der Stückliste geht hervor, wie oft ein Bauteil benötigt wird, wie es heißt, welches Material für den Bau notwendig ist und auf welcher Blattnummer die genaueste Zeichnung des Bauteils zu finden ist.

 

Beispiel:

Sie beschäftigen sich gerade mit dem Bau des Höhenruders und suchen genauere Informationen über den Bau des Ruderscharniers. Die Gesamtzeichnung des Höhenruders weist das Ruderscharnier mit der Bauteilenummer 4230 aus. Sie nehmen also die Stückliste der Baugruppe 400 und da alles numerisch geordnet ist, finden sie das Teil 4230 recht schnell. Die wichtigsten Informationen sind dort vermerkt, nämlich, dass von diesem Ruderscharnier drei Stück benötigt werden, dass das hauptsächlich verwendete Material Stahlblech mit einer Dicke von 1,5 mm ist und dass sich auf Blatt 403 die Einzelteilzeichnung befindet.

Allerdings ist aus der Stückliste nicht alles ersichtlich. Es ist zum Beispiel nicht vermerkt, dass zum Bau des Teils 4230 insgesamt zwei Teile nötig sind. Und zwar zum einen das Scharnierband aus 1,5mm Stahlblech selbst und zum anderen ein kleines Stück Messingrohr, welches als Scharnierlager dient und mit dam Scharnierband hartverlötet werden muss. Diese Information wird einzig und allein aus der Einzelteilzeichnung des Ruderscharniers zu entnehmen sein.

 

3. Die Baubeschreibung

Für den Fokker D.VII existieren zur Zeit noch keine Baubeschreibungen.

 

Einige Fotografien des Projektes im Bau:

Kuehlerbau10.jpg (111917 Byte)

Viel Handarbeit! Hier die Bearbeitung einer Kühlerklappe.

 

Kuehlerbau12.jpg (40606 Byte)

Zum Vergleich: fertige Kühlerklappen.

 

Fahrgestellanschluss12.jpg (95702 Byte)

Schweißarbeiten am Rumpf. Hier: Fahrwerksanschluss vorne.

Propeller21.jpg (77045 Byte)

Der Propeller im Bau

Propellerbau1.jpg (91637 Byte)

Fertige und im Bau befindliche Propeller

Benzintank14.jpg (51396 Byte)

Handgespenglerte Einfüllstutzen für den Benzintank.

Aufblasen1.jpg (120742 Byte)

Ein fertiger Drucktank wird aufgeblasen.

 

Mun2283.jpg (120934 Byte)

Patronenkasten und Patronenleergurtkasten im Flugzeug eingebaut.

602.jpg (58271 Byte)

Waffeneinbau.

 

310.jpg (73970 Byte)

Flügelholm im Bau

396.jpg (85335 Byte)

Belastungsversuch an einer Flügelrippe. 520kg und kein Bruch!

 

687.jpg (52499 Byte)

Bau am Flügel.

 

725.jpg (73388 Byte)

Oberflügel im Rohbau.

820.jpg (72285 Byte)

Flügelbau.

856.jpg (46687 Byte)

Bauprüfer Hartmut Sammet sichtlich zufrieden.

 

885.jpg (122555 Byte)

Erste Anpassung der Flügel an den Rumpf.

 

891.jpg (106022 Byte)

Umlenkrollenbeschläge der Engels E 3 im Vergleich zur Original Werkszeichnung von Fokker.